A Handful Of Details On HGV Class 1 Training

By passing the Category C+E practical test after becoming a Class 2 HGV driver, you can advance directly to becoming a Class 1 HGV driver. To become an HGV Class 2 driver, you should first follow these steps:


  • Obtain a driver’s licence for cars.
  • Request a temporary truck licence.
  • Complete the Driver Certificate of Professional Competence (CPC) exam.


A theoretical and driving examination are both included in this four-part exam.

You can take the Category C+E practical test and become a Class 1 HGV driver after fulfilling the requirements.


According to recent surveys, the UK has a shortage of 50,000 HGV drivers, making them highly sought-after. So, we’ve looked at several questions about a Class 1 licence for anyone interested in HGV class 1 training.


Different Types Of HGV Licences

Different licences are needed to operate a lorry. They primarily depend on the various vehicle weights. The weight of a vehicle and the amount of additional weight it can tow with a trailer attached to determine the licence categories. The following are a few HGV categories:


The smallest vehicle used is a Cat C1 vehicle. It has a weight range of 3500 to 7500 kg and can tow a trailer up to 750 kg.


With a Cat C1+E licence, you can operate a car weighing between 3500kg and 7500kg. It permits the use of trailers that are heavier than 750 kg.


A Class 1 Driver

Driving vehicles that weigh at least seven and a half tonnes and have a detachable trailer is permitted with a class 1 HGV training licence, commonly known as a category C + E licence. These are often huge trucks that travel extensive distances.


What Distinguishes A Class 1 Driver From a Class 2 Driver?

Category C+E vehicles, essentially articulated lorries, can be driven by class 1 drivers. However, Class 2 drivers are permitted to operate rigid-body Category C vehicles. These include garbage collecting trucks and fire trucks. Class 1 drivers typically earn more money and drive vast distances, whereas Class 2 drivers operate in urban areas.


With a Cat C licence, you can operate heavier vehicles—those weighing more than 3500 kg—and trailers up to 750 kg.


With a Cat C+E licence, you can drive the heaviest vehicles—those that weigh more than 3500 kg—and trailers that weigh more than 750 kg.


Steps To Get HGV Class 1 Licence After HGV Class 1 Training

The steps in the simple process of getting an HGV class 1 licence are well-defined. The process is simple to complete with the HGV class 1 training.


Medical Test

Professional drivers need a medical examination as a part of their HGV Class 1 training. The test ensures you don’t have health issues that make it difficult to operate a heavy truck safely. A doctor fills out a DVLA form after performing a quick physical exam and asking a few questions about your medical history.


Theory Testing

You need to take a multiple-choice theory test on a computer in an authorised testing facility, just like a traditional driving test. You can practice for this theory examination by taking one of the several mock exams offered by your training centre.


Practical Training

It’s time to start driving and training after receiving the results of your theoretical test. During this phase, a DSV-certified teacher will teach you how to operate an HGV vehicle. After you’ve improved your technique, you can take a practical exam.


Driver CPC training

After passing the practical test, you are qualified to operate an HGV. If it’s not already a part of your licence, passing a driving CPC test enables you to drive for a living. A driver’s licence is a pass to operate specific vehicles for pay. For continued roadworthiness, drivers must complete a 35-hour refresher course every five years.


So this is all about HGV class 1 training.

Leave a Reply